Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Audio Review: The Favorite Daughter by Kaira Rouda

From the author of the page-turning domestic suspense Best Day Ever, comes another gripping novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena.

 The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie.

 Jane Harris lives in a sparkling home in an oceanfront gated community in Orange County. It’s a place that seems too beautiful to be touched by sadness. But exactly one year ago, Jane’s oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident and Jane has been grief-stricken ever since. Lost in a haze of anti-depressants, she’s barely even left the house. Now that’s all about to change.

 It’s time for Jane to reclaim her life and her family. Jane’s husband, David, has planned a memorial service for Mary and three days later, their youngest daughter, Betsy, graduates high school. Yet as Jane reemerges into the world, it’s clear her family has changed without her. Her husband has been working long days—and nights—at the office. Her daughter seems distant, even secretive. And her beloved Mary was always such a good girl—dutiful and loving. But does someone know more about Mary, and about her last day, than they’ve revealed?

 The bonds between mothers and daughters, and husbands and wives should never be broken. But you never know how far someone will go to keep a family together…

 Hardcover, 368 pages
Audiobook, 9 hours, 31 minutes
Published May 21st, 2019
 by Graydon House
****

I started reading this book and then decided that it would be perfect in audio format, I’m glad I went that route because I am not sure I would have enjoyed it as much as I did if I’d read it.

With Jane Harris basically talking directly to me it didn’t take long to know she is one to steer clear of - she’s kinda scary, well...not kinda, let’s just say I wouldn’t want to get on her wrong side. The author did a great job with her characterization, it wasn’t hard to see why she didn’t have very many friends and I wasn’t sure if it was because she was grieving the death of her daughter or if this was just the way she was all the time. She was neurotic, paranoid and suspicious of everything it was no wonder she had a rocky relationship with her family.

I started this book at 9 AM and thankfully I had some driving, dog walking and cleaning to do finishing it off in the evening, I just had to know what was going on.

Labeled psychological thriller it was not as action-packed as I thought it might be but as the story developed I was sucked right it, with some surprises along the way and a few parts somewhat predictable I really enjoyed the ride.

My thanks to the publisher (via Netgalley) for a digital copy though I went the audio route via Scribd.

No comments:

Post a Comment