Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Her Sister’s Shoes by Ashley Farley (review & giveaway)

Set in the South Carolina Lowcountry and packed with Southern charm and memorable characters, Her Sister’s Shoes is the story of three sisters—Samantha, Jackie, and Faith—who struggle to balance the demands of career and family while remaining true to themselves.

Samantha Sweeney has always been the glue that holds her family together, their go-to girl for love and support. When an ATV accident leaves her teenage son in a wheelchair, she loses her carefully constructed self-control.

In the after-gloom of her dreaded fiftieth birthday and the discovery of her husband’s infidelity, Jackie realizes she must reconnect with her former self to find the happiness she needs to move forward.

Faith lacks the courage to stand up to her abusive husband. She turns to her sisters for help, placing all their lives at risk.

In the midst of their individual challenges, the Sweeney sisters must cope with their mother’s mental decline. Is Lovie in the early stages of Alzheimer’s, or is her odd behavior normal for a woman her age? No one, including Lovie, understands her obsession with a rusty key she wears around her neck.

For fans of Elin Hildebrand, Her Sister’s Shoes is a contemporary women’s novel that explores and proves the healing power of family.

Paperback, 380 pages

Published June 24th 2015 by Leisure Time Books 
paperback provided as part of this tour
****

Her Sister's Shoes is a story revolving around the lives of three sisters.  It's a book about relationships not just between sisters but mother/son, wife/husband and mother/daughter.  Each of these sisters are unique with their own secrets and struggles.

Sam, the oldest, tries to be the strong one, helping everyone while dealing with her own issues.  The single mother of a troubled teenage is hard enough but add his own emotional issues is sending her over the edge.

Faith doesn't want to admit how bad her life is until she has no choice.  The repercussions put the whole family in danger, how did it get so out of hand and how will she cope?

Jackie has the picture perfect life, but does she really? 

Each of these sisters is portrayed in a realistic and believable manner.  What I liked about this book was the fact the issues being dealt with here are what happens in real life, making it easy to relate.  The author wrote a book that I had a hard time putting down, she made me care about not just these 3 ladies but the rest of the family as well.  I liked the added mystery to this story, the rusty key hanging around their mothers neck.  Is there really meaning to it or just an obsession?

Ashley Farley is a new author to me and I liked her writing style.  Even though this book jumped from different points of view it was done in a manner that flowed nicely without disrupting the story.

Thank you to iRead Book Tours for giving me the opportunity to be part of this tour.



Ashley Farley is a wife and mother of two college-aged children. She grew up in the salty marshes of South Carolina, but now lives in Richmond, Virginia, a city she loves for its history and traditions.

After her brother died in 1999 of an accidental overdose, she turned to writing as a way of releasing her pent-up emotions. She wrote SAVING BEN in honor of Neal, the boy she worshipped, the man she could not save. SAVING BEN is not a memoir, but a story about the special bond between siblings.

When she's not working on her next novel, HER SISTER'S SHOES, scheduled for release in July of 2015, she can be found book blogging at www.chroniclesofavidreaders.com

Connect with the author: Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook

Giveaway:​
Prizes: 
Enter to win one of 3 prizes: 1st prize: Beach bag with goodies that includes a beach towel, Stay Calm and Buy more Shoes t-shirt, set of cosmetic bags with samples, and an insulated cup. 2nd prize : $25 Amazon gift card, 3rd prize: $25 Amazon gift card (Open to USA & Canada) Ends July 25

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

June 29 - Working Mommy Journal - review / giveaway
June 29 - The World As I See It - review / giveaway
June 29 - Story Matters - review / giveaway
June 30 - Peeking Between the Pages - review / giveaway
July 1 - Mary-andering Creatively - review / giveaway
July 2 - A simple Life, really!? - review
July 2 - 3 Partners in Shopping - review / giveaway
July 3 - Kritters Ramblings - review
July 6 - From Isi - review
July 6 - Deal Sharing Aunt - review / giveaway
July 7 - A soccer Mom's Book Blog - review / giveaway
July 7 - Library of Clean Reads - review / giveaway
July 8 - Bless Their Hearts Mom - review / guest post / giveaway
July 9 - StoreyBook Reviews - review / guest post / giveaway
July 10 - Sarah Rehmatullah - review
July 13 - Did YOU Hear About the Morgans? - review
July 13 - The Autistic Gamer - review 
July 14 -Just One More Chapter - review / giveaway
July 15 - Svetlana's Reads and Views - review
July 16 - Zerina Blossom's Books - review / giveaway
July 17 - Jorie Loves a Story - review
July 17 - Jessica Cassidy - review / author interview / giveaway
 

5 comments:

  1. This sounds like one I would enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like the review. Thank you for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Lovely review, the characters grew on me too

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks for the opportunity. All the reviews I've seen for this have been positive. I'm looking forward to reading Her Sister's Shoes.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thank you so much for your lovely review and for being a part of Her Sister's Shoes book tour.

    ReplyDelete