Monday, May 26, 2014

Review: The Collector of Dying Breaths by M.J. Rose (Book Tour)

From one of America’s most imaginative storytellers comes a passionate tale of love and treachery, spanning the days of Catherine de Medici’s court to the twenty-first century and starring a woman drawn back, time and again, to the past.

In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating fragrance is plucked from poverty to become Catherine de Medici’s perfumer. To repay his debt, over the years René le Florentine is occasionally called upon to put his vast knowledge to a darker purpose: the creation of deadly poisons used to dispatch the Queen’s rivals.
But it’s René’s other passion—a desire to reanimate a human breath, to bring back the lives of the two people whose deaths have devastated him—that incites a dangerous treasure hunt five centuries later. That’s when Jac L’Etoile—suffering from a heartache of her own—becomes obsessed with the possibility of unlocking Rene’s secret to immortality.

Soon Jac’s search reconnects her with Griffin North, a man she’s loved her entire life. Together they confront an eccentric heiress whose art collection rivals many museums and who is determined to keep her treasures close at hand, not just in this life but in her next.
Set in the forest of Fontainebleau, crisscrossing the lines between the past and the present, M.J. Rose has written a mesmerizing tale of passion and obsession. This is a gothic tale perfect for fans of Anne Rice, Deborah Harkness, and Diana Galbadon.

Publication Date: April 8, 2014
Atria Books
Hardcover; 384p
ISBN-10: 1451621531
****

This is book 6 in the Reincarnationist series, I've only read #5 - Seduction and this one.  So no you don't have to read the whole series to enjoy this one.  I do have plans to go back and read this series right from the beginning.

MJ Rose has fast become one of my favorite authors. There are so many things that I love about her books

I love how she takes real historical figures and works them into her books.  This time around it was Catherine de Medici, what an interesting queen to read about.  There was enough historical fiction to satisfy my desire to learn while I read.

Reincarnation, now there is a subject that I love to read about.  Not really sure why, but I enjoy it and how the author ties the 1500's to present day is original and unique. Not being a big fan of fantasy the author wrote this in such a way that it was totally believable.

I also love a good multi genre book, one that doesn't overwhelm the senses.  There is so much going on with this book,  murder, mystery, suspense and yea some romance too.  Put them all together with a remarkable storyline and you get an unputdownable book that how me up into the wee houses of the night.



"It is with irony now, forty years later, to think that if I had not been called a murderer on the most frightening night of my life, there might not be any perfume in Paris today. And that scent—to which I gave my all and which gave me all the power and riches I could have hoped for—is at the heart of why now it is I who call myself a murderer."
From The Collector of Dying Breaths


"A perfume is an intimate object, it is the reflector of the heart." ―Emanuel Ungaro


Praise for The Collector of Dying Breaths

“History, mystery, ambition, lust, love, death and the timeless quest for immortality…a riveting tale of suspense.” – B.A.Shapiro, New York Times bestselling author of The Art Forger

“Mysterious, magical, and mythical…what a joy to read!” – Sara Gruen, New York Times bestselling author

Buy the Book

Amazon US Amazon UK
Barnes & Noble

M.J. Rose is the international best selling author of fourteen novels and two non-fiction books on marketing. Her fiction and non-fiction has appeared in many magazines and reviews including Oprah Magazine. She has been featured in the New York Times, Newsweek, Time, USA Today and on the Today Show, and NPR radio. Rose graduated from Syracuse University, spent the ’80s in advertising, has a commercial in the Museum of Modern Art in NYC and since 2005 has run the first marketing company for authors – Authorbuzz.com. The television series PAST LIFE, was based on Rose’s novels in the Renincarnationist series. She is one of the founding board members of International Thriller Writers and runs the blog- Buzz, Balls & Hype. She is also the co-founder of Peroozal.com and BookTrib.com.

Rose lives in CT with her husband the musician and composer, Doug Scofield, and their very spoiled and often photographed dog, Winka.

For more information on M.J. Rose and her novels, please visit her website. You can also find her on Facebook, Twitter and Goodreads.



 click on banner for more stops on this tour

No comments:

Post a Comment