Friday, July 20, 2018

Audio Review: The Daughters of Ireland (Deverill Chronicles #2) by Santa Montefiore

International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the second book in her romantic and unforgettable Deverill Chronicles trilogy, which follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century—perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Kate Morton.

 Perched majestically atop the lush emerald hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill has been the home to several generations of the Deverills. But when the castle fell prey to a devastating attack during the Irish revolt, the ancestral home’s survival was at stake—until Celia Mayberry and her husband buy the estate and vow to restore Castle Deverill to its former glory. For Celia, the castle holds many fond childhood memories when she ran through its vast halls with her cousin Kitty Deverill and their cherished friend Bridie Doyle.

 But not everyone is elated. Although Kitty is grateful to her cousin for purchasing the manor and ensuring it will remain in the family, she cannot help but be wistful for the days when she was the mistress of Castle Deverill. While she is content in her new life with her husband Robert and her adopted son JP, her heart still yearns for Jack O’Leary—the man she cannot have. As Kitty struggles with her choices, she must make a heartbreaking decision that could bring her the greatest joy, but hurt those closest to her.

 Now wealthy and the toast of the town in New York City, Bridie Doyle has come a long way since she was a young girl in Ireland and the daughter of one of the maids at Castle Deverill. But all her money cannot ease the pain over giving away her baby. When she finds love, she is tempted to return to her beloved homeland—even if it means she will have to face the woman she still longs to seek revenge against.

 As Celia wastes no time, or expense, in hiring workers to renovate Castle Deverill—even when the country soon finds itself in the midst of the Great Depression—she has no idea that her world is about to be shattered. Now everything that felt so certain is cast into doubt as this daughter of Ireland must find the inner strength to build a new future.

 “Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore. Everything she writes, she writes from the heart.”—Jojo Moyes, New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You

 Audio Published August 15th 2017
 by HarperCollins (first published July 14th 2016)
****

Book 2 in Santa Montefiore’s Deverill Chronicles Series, this book is also known as Daughters of Castle Deverill.

I loved Songs of Love and War (The Girl in the Castle) and while it had a fitting conclusion there was enough hanging to make me jump right into this one. It picks up right where Songs left off.

Following the lives of Kitty, Bridie and Celia from Ireland, New York City and into Africa, where the past is set to collide with the present. They must be courageous, daring and find their own way.

As author Jojo Moyes states ‘nobody does epic romance like Santa Montifore. Everything she writes, she writes from the heart.” It’s so true, not being a fan of the romance genre she writes multi layered historical stories with a wide cast of characters that aren’t confusing to follow. The plots (yes more than one) are intricate and draws me right in.

Definitely a series I am anxious to continue with and an author that has ranked up there in my ‘must read’ pile.

click on cover to take you to my review

Though the publisher was gracious enough to send me an ARC (via Netgalley) due to personal issues I went the audio route via Audible.