Contact

Sunday, February 6, 2022

The Riviera House by Natasha Lester

The New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Secret weaves a lush and engrossing novel of World War II inspired by a true story and perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff.
 
Paris, 1939: The Nazis think √Čliane can't understand German. They’re wrong. They think she’s merely cataloging art in a Louvre museum and unaware they’re stealing national treasures for their private collections. They have no idea she’s carefully decoding their notes and smuggling information to the Resistance. But √Čliane is playing a dangerous game. Does she dare trust the man she once loved with her secrets, or will he only betray her once again? She has no way to know for certain . . . until a trip to a stunning home on the French Riviera brings a whole new level of peril.

Present Day: Wanting to forget the tragedy that has left her life in shambles, Remy Lang heads to a home she’s mysteriously inherited on the Riviera. While working on her vintage fashion business, she discovers a catalog of the artworks stolen during World War II and is shocked to see a painting that hung on her childhood bedroom wall. Who is her family, really? And does the Riviera house hold more secrets than Remy is ready to face?

Natasha Lester brilliantly explores the impossible choices ordinary people faced every day during extraordinary circumstances, weaving fact with fiction and celebrating women who push the boundaries of their time.

Paperback, 480 pages
PublishedAugust 31, 2021
by Forever
4.5/5 stars

Natasha Lester is a new to me author.  I have her previous book, The Paris Orphan in my vast tbr pile but jumped into this her latest.

Part of the reason I hesitated reading another WW2 book was being offered something new and different.  With the current day story this was more than another WW2 story but rather a journey of grief and healing.  It was authentic, heart felt and just took this book to another level.

I enjoyed the past story, Eliane is a strong character with character and determination.  I was reminded of The Monuments Men but from another perspective.  Not being a big lover of art I was able to feel Eliane's passion and drive to safeguard these precious pieces, though it comes with a steep cost.

The present day was a story that tore at my heart as I felt the heartache of Remy.  Her journey felt authentic as she struggled to carry on with life when her loved ones didn't.

The Riviera House is an emotional read, it's about sacrifice, grief, a mothers love and how far one goes to protect themselves and those they love.

Like I said my first Nastasha Lester book, I'll definitely be back for more.

This book was part of my 2021 Reading Off My Shelf Challenge.


No comments:

Post a Comment