Saturday, May 25, 2019

Review: The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.

 Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye.

 Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor - only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

 Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . .

 Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns - and never takes you quite where you'd expect.

Paperback, 248 pages
Published January 10th, 2019
by Hot Key Book
***

It was the cover that drew me to this book.  Eerie, spooky and kinda creepy, the makings for a great ghost story.

This is Rachel Burge's debut and the premise is unique and has the making for not just a wonderful story but I could see a little series coming into play here.  I was grabbed right away with the first few chapters, wonderful character introduction, sinister setting and mysterious. But then it kinda fizzled out in the middle a little but gained some speed at the ending with a fitting conclusion.

I do recommend this book and will read this author again.

This book is part of my '2019 reading off my shelf challenge'.

No comments:

Post a Comment