Saturday, October 25, 2014

Glamorous Illusions by Lisa T. Bergren

The first book in the Grand Tour series, Glamorous Illusions will take readers on a pilgrimage through Europe-and straight into the soul. 

It's the summer of 1913 and Cora Kensington's life on the family farm has taken a dark turn. The crops are failing and worse, so is her father's health. Then a stranger comes to call and in one fateful afternoon, Cora discovers that her birth father is a copper king-a man who invites her to tour Europe with her new family. As she travels across America, then on to England and France, Cora faces the hardships as well as the privileges of assuming the family name. And though now she knows more of her true identity, she soon discovers the journey is only beginning. 

 Paperback, 416 pages
Published June 1st 2012 by David C Cook 
review copy provided by published via netgalley for honest review

Cora has just had her world turned upside down, so many changes all at once.  The author painted a clear picture of Cora's struggle as she comes to grips with her new life and who she is.  It's only natural for her to feel confused, lonely, scared and at times anger with her current situation.  She has her faith and knew the direction her life was heading, but all that has changed.  She draws on her beliefs and faith in a manner that wasn't overly preachy but in a realistic and believable way.  Christians struggle, hurt and get anxious just like everyone else.

This is historical fiction, beginning in a small town US, the year 1913 and concluding in France.  The author stayed true to the time period and various locations.  The difference between upper and middle classes seemed to be the same whether in the US, England or France.  It was a very interesting plot, though some story lines were predictable but was still an enjoyable start to this trilogy.

Book 2 is Grave Consquence
Book 3 is Glittering Promises

Advance Praise

"A fascinating mix of travel and intrigue, heartache and romance, Glamorous Illusions sweeps you away on the Grand Tour, exploring London and Paris through the eyes of a young woman who longs to find her place in the world. The title captures the story perfectly, as Cora delves beneath all that glitters to discover what is real and true, while not just one man but two vie for her affections...ooh, la la! A grand start to a new series from a seasoned author who writes from the heart."
Liz Curtis Higgs, New York Times best-selling author of Mine Is the Night



Lisa T. Bergren is the award-winning author of over thirty-five books, with more than 2 million copies sold. A former publishing executive, Lisa now divides her time between writing, editing, parenting three children with her husband, Tim, and dreaming of her next trip to Italy. She lives in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

No comments:

Post a Comment