Sunday, November 30, 2014

Giveaway/Spotlight: The Beautiful American by Jeanne Mackin


The Beautiful American

As recovery from World War II begins, expat American Nora Tours travels from her home in southern France to London in search of her missing daughter. There, she unexpectedly meets up with an old acquaintance, famous model-turned-photographer Lee Miller. Neither has emerged from the war unscathed. Nora is racked with the fear that her efforts to survive under the Vichy regime may have cost her daughter’s life. Lee suffers from what she witnessed as a war correspondent photographing the liberation of the Nazi concentration camps.

Nora and Lee knew each other in the heady days of late 1920’s Paris: when Nora was giddy with love for her childhood sweetheart, Lee became the celebrated mistress of the artist Man Ray, and Lee’s magnetic beauty drew them all into the glamorous lives of famous artists and their wealthy patrons. But Lee fails to realize that her friendship with Nora is even older, that it goes back to their days as children in Poughkeepsie, New York, when a devastating trauma marked Lee forever.

A novel of freedom and frailty, desire and daring, The Beautiful American portrays the extraordinary relationship between two passionate, unconventional women.  [provided by the author]
For reviewers’ attention: brief, very mild sex and violence
***

[historical fiction]
by
Jeanne Mackin
 Release date: June 3, 2014
at New American Library/Penguin
352 pages
ISBN: 978-0-451-46582-5
***
  
Praise for The Beautiful American

“Readers will rank [it] right up there with The Paris Wife…. A brilliant, beautifully written literary masterpiece…”–New York Times bestselling author Sandra Dallas

“Will transport you to expat Paris… and from there take you on a journey through the complexities of a friendship…breathes new life into such luminaries as Man Ray, Picasso, and, of course, the titular character, Lee Miller, while at the same time offering up a wonderfully human and sympathetic protagonist in Nora Tours.”–Suzanne Rindell, author of The Other Typist

“Achingly beautiful and utterly mesmerizing… Sure to appeal to fans of Paula McLain’s The Paris Wife and Erika Robuck’s Call Me Zelda, or indeed to anyone with a taste for impeccably researched and beautifully written historical fiction.”– Jennifer Robson, author of Somewhere in France

“Beautiful…A fascinating account of a little-known woman who was determined to play by her own rules.”–Historical Novel Society
***

Jeanne Mackin is the author of several historical novels set in France,
and has earned awards for her journalism
as well as a creative writing fellowship
from the American Antiquarian Society.
She lives in upstate New York with her husband,
cats and herd of deer,
and is still trying to master the French subjunctive.

Visit her website.
Follow Jeanne Mackin on Twitter  | Facebook





Buy the book | on
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Books a Million
Google Play
iBookstore
Indiebound



VIRTUAL BOOK TOUR SCHEDULE

Monday, December 1
Spotlight + Giveaway at Just One More Chapter
Review + Guest-Post + Giveaway at Vvb32 Reads
Tuesday, December 2
Review + Excerpt + Giveaway at Indiereadergirl0329
Wednesday, December 3
Review + Giveaway at Unshelfish
Thursday, December 4
Review + Giveaway at Macarons & Paperbacks
Review + Giveaway at I Am, Indeed
Friday, December 5
Review + Giveaway at With Her Nose Stuck In A Book
Saturday, December 6
Spotlight + Excerpt + Giveaway at Words And Peace
Monday, December 8
Review at Svetlana’s Reads and Views
Tuesday, December 9
Review +  Giveaway at Chocolate & Croissants
Review at Diary of an Eccentric
Wednesday, December 10
Review + Giveaway at Bookish Wanderlove
*
You can enter the giveaway here
or on the book blogs participating in this tour.
Be sure to follow each participant on Twitter,
they are listed in the entry form below
.

4 comments:

  1. I can't think of a book set in the 1920s right at the top of my head that I've personally read.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Call me old-fashioned, but 1920's novel = *The Great Gatsby* first and foremost in my mind. As a historical fiction lover, though, I welcome as many quality novels about this period into my library as I find and can afford! Thanks for this blockbuster giveaway. Cheers, Kara S

    ReplyDelete
  3. Last year I read The Other Typist that takes place in the 1920s and I LOVED it. Such a great book! If you haven't read it, do before the movie comes out.

    Suzy

    ReplyDelete